ArtsKC Advocacy Committee Members

A positive relationship with local governments is essential for the arts to thrive in any community. At ArtsKC, advocacy is one of the foundational pillars of our mission to unleash the power of the arts. Dedicated staff and members of the Advocacy Committee work closely with local, regional, and national governments and officials to promote policies that benefit all sectors of the arts community of our region.

Interested in learning more about the committee? Email Anna Joy Walker at

Jon Stephens – Chair
President & CEO
Port KC

Erin Brower
Government & Community Affairs Director
Hallmark Cards, Inc

Mike Burke
Mike Burke, LLC

Pam Curtis
Representative- District 32
State of Kansas

Brad Douglas
Heartland Credit Union Association

Maureen Mahoney
Chief of Staff to Mayor David Alvey
Unified Government of Wyandotte County and Kansas City, Kansas

Glenda Masters
Cultural Arts Manager
City of Lee’s Summit

Tracie McClendon-Cole
Deputy Director of Health
Kansas City Missouri Health Department

Steve McDowell
Principal, Director of Design
BNIM Architects

David Oliver
Senior Partner
Berkowitz Oliver LLP

Ed Peterson
Attorney at Law

Greg Razer
Representative – District 25
State of Missouri

Sarah VanLanduyt
Executive Director
Arts Council of Johnson County

Jennifer Wampler
Chief Development Officer
KC Ballet

Eileen Weir
City of Independence, Missouri

Hannes Zacharias
Professor of Practice
The University of Kansas

Staff Leads

Dana Knapp – Staff
President & CEO
ArtsKC – Regional Arts Council

Branden Haralson – Staff
Communications Manager, Engagement & Public Policy
ArtsKC – Regional Arts Council

Anna Joy Walker– Staff
Executive & Strategic
Relations Manager
ArtsKC – Regional Arts Council

Branden Haralson | Communications Manager, Engagement & Public Policy |